Going Green in 2016: Plastic

I’ve set myself a challenge. Call it a new month resolution. My husband will call it a notion! Anyway, trying to be more eco-friendly in our house is something that I frequently try and address but often hit stumbling blocks. I have two small children, not much time and a very small budget to play with so choosing green options have to tick a lot of boxes before I’ll become a life long convert. We’ve experimented with bamboo toothbrushes, soap bars in bamboo bags and reusable sanitary products. Some of my notions have caught on and some have quickly fallen by the wayside. But here I am setting myself the challenge yet again to try to make our home a little more eco-friendly.

Let me be up front – I am in no way an eco-warrior. I’m a very bog standard stay at home mum that thinks she should be a better steward of the planet and doesn’t want to leave a big dirty footprint behind her. I also want the same for my kids!

So, this time I’m going to try a more gradual approach to change and set different targets each month to find greener options that can fit in with my family life. They won’t fit every family and they certainly won’t tick every eco-friendly/ethical box but I’m a firm believer that every little helps (and not just at Tesco!).

So let me begin by targeting …..PLASTIC

Check out http://www.treehugger.com/green-home/26-not-so-fantastic-facts-about-plastic.html for why plastic is BAD!

But the things about plastic that personally annoy me as a Mum are:

  1. Lots of it can’t go in my recycling bin so it goes to landfill and it doesn’t go away… for a very very long time….every toothbrush we throw away can lie in a landfill site for 400 years! We could literally drown in plastic!
  2. As well as all the obvious plastic there’s little plastic beads in lots of toiletries that end up in oceans and rivers and kill fish etc. Check out https://youtu.be/R6IP3_aRFtA
  3. There are questions about chemicals and hormones leaching out of plastic packaging into the food stored inside…really doesn’t sound healthy!

So, that’s me suitably annoyed with plastic to try to reduce the amount of it around our home. My initial plans include:

  1. To reduce the amount of plastic coming into the house.WP_20160131_097 My weekly Tesco delivery may have to be revised! I’m a big fan of wooden toys and if it has to be plastic then Green Toys (www.greentoys.com) seem a good option.  We love this little aeroplane:-)
  2. To check exactly which plastics can go in my recycling bin.
  3. To try to replace plastic storage containers with glass. I’m big into batch cooking and freezing food and often the food is reheated in the tupperware box…I think that really has to stop!
  4. Audit the bathroom cabinet for polypropylene or polyethylene. Sanitary products and toothbrushes may need to be re-thought (again!)

So that’s the plan. I’m not going to change the world but surely one less plastic bag must help a little? Who’s with me? If you’ve any clever tricks for minimising plastic, that fit in easily with family life, I’d love to hear them. I’ll keep you posted on my progress!

 

Leave a Reply

